The Tempest

Fri, Aug 26, 2022
Sat, Aug 27, 2022
Sun, Aug 28, 2022
Sat, Sep 3, 2022
Sun, Sep 4, 2022
Fri, Sep 9, 2022
Sat, Sep 10, 2022
Sun, Sep 11, 2022
Fri, Sep 16, 2022
Sat, Sep 17, 2022

The Tempest

Synopsis: Prospero was once Duke of Milan, but his brother kidnapped Prospero and his infant child and set them adrift. Years later, the Duke’s ship is passing by the very island Prospero and his daughter Miranda had landed on years ago. Prospero orders his servant, a magical spirit named Ariel, to create a storm to sink the ship. The Duke and his co-conspirators wash up on shore the next morning, separated from everyone else, including Prince Ferdinand. Stephano the butler and Trinculo the fool find themselves washed up with the liquor and get drunk with a sea creature named Caliban, who has been the enslaved servant of Prospero. he convinces Stephano and Trinculo to help him kill Prospero. Meanwhile Ferdinand encounters and has fallen in love with Miranda. Prospero decides to test Ferdinand’s devotion and has him complete menial tasks. Pleased with Ferdinand, he has the spirits of the island give their blessings to the couple. He finally brings everyone back together, releases Ariel, and abjures his magic forever to return back to Milan.


The Argument: Shakespeare’s “home is where the heart is” story, we see through Miranda that family can even make a deserted island feel homey. Ferdinand vows to give up all he is accustomed to to stay on the island with her. Even Caliban loves the island, if not its inhabitants, because it reminds him of his mother. Stephano and Trinculo love their wine. The only ones not at ease here are the conspirators, who are without love or trust.